Seal of the President of the Philippines

The Seal of the President of the Philippines is a symbol used to represent the history and dignity of the president of the Philippines. It was designed by Captain Galo B. Ocampo, secretary of the Philippine Heraldry Committee, and patterned after the Seal of the President of the United States. Its was first used by President Manuel Roxas in 1947.

The Philippine sun used in the coat-of-arms is adopted from the national flag, the eight rays represent the eight provinces placed under martial law at the onset of the revolution against Spain. On the sun there is an equilateral triangle, representing liberty, equality, and fraternity, which were the ideals of the Philippine revolution. The stars at the corners of the triangle represent Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao, the three geographical island groups of the country.

The Seal of the President of the Philippines shall consist of the Coat-Of-Arms of the President of the Philippines, and a white circle around the Coat-of-Arms enclosed by two (2) golden-yellow marginal rings. The white circle shall contain the words "Sagisag ng Pangulo ng Pilipinas" in black letters on the upper arc, the lower arc divided by three (3) five-pointed golden-yellow stars.

The coat-of-arms is then surrounded by a white circle, enclosed by two golden-yellow rims. The upper arc of the white circle contains the words SAGISAG NG PANGULO NG PILIPINAS ("Seal of the President of the Philippines") in black letters. The bottom of the outer rim is marked with three five-pointed golden-yellow stars.

At the center of the coat-of-arms is a sea lion, which is adopted from the coat-of-arms of the city of Manila. It has the arms, head, and upper body of a lion, and the tail of a sea creature. The sea lion on the coat-of-arms of arms was adopted from the coat-of-arms of the Spanish kingdoms of Castile and León and was granted in 1596. Because the Philippines was an overseas (Ultramar) colony, the lion became a sealion.